Open Licensing – Will This Lead to a New Hobby?

28 01 2013

The latest module in the MOOC I am taking discusses “Open Licensing.” I found the topic of licensing a bit confusing. I have bookmarked the information for “just-in-time” use…later.

The activity asks us to use the advanced search in Google to find items that can be used freely. I found this very helpful. It seems I’m always looking for photos or videos to use to make a point in a presentation. I specifically searched for “how-to photography” type sites.

I found the following interesting sites:

My Favorite Site:  http://wiki.creativecommons.org/Photography

This is a Creative Commons (CC) site that provides links to photographers and websites that use CC licenses. There is a ton of information here that I will find useful later…if I want to start posting my own how-to’s and hints for better photography on my blog. There is also an useful section that discusses enforcement of creative licenses.

I’m not sure how much “remixing” I would do with these resources. However, I could easily find other uses for the information. I’m imagining a page or two of tricks and techniques I’ve found useful over the years…all freely posted for others to use next to my own examples of how I used each tip. I’ll have to become a bit more versed in the reuse license specifics before I move forward. I still find that part very confusing.

There are a million sites with very cool ideas for this topic.  The hardest part of this assignment was to quit searching and write the post!

So much to learn…so little time!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

