Education is Sharing

16 01 2013

This post is for the first module assignment in IOE13

I could write about several learning experiences where a person truly shared their learning with me.  Where should I start?  Should I describe how my grandmother taught me how to make Snickerdoodles? What about my Human Resources Management professor who shared with me how to make an oral presentation more effective? I cannot forget to mention how Richard, my dissertation chairperson, shared with me how to write academically.  There was the time my mother shared with me how to sew, crochet, and how to be a good mom to my own kids.

There were so many learning experiences…and many more to come.

There are common elements to each experience:

1. Learning by example – each shared with me their own technique, shortcuts, and helpful advice

2. Learning by doing – each gave me an opportunity to model my technique after their own in a safe environment, with a mentor, before heading out on my own

3.  Learning from my mistakes – each helped me correct my mistakes, shared with me their own mistakes in learning something new, and encouraged me to practice until I got it right

I have always believed that education is about sharing…maybe that is why I am so interested in the Openness movement in education.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

