Looks like you, acts like me

25 02 2010

My husband and I spent hours discussing what our children would look like during each pregnancy.  I never dreamed in a million years that I would have two, blonde-haired and blue-eyed children.  I swore that the nurses handed me the wrong child when our first was born.  I would have checked into it further, but he was the only baby in the room when he was born.  Couldn’t deny him!  The second child has darker hair and brown eyes like me.  The baby has blonde hair and very blue eyes.

Many people have told us that our oldest looks “just like Roy.”  Many of Roy’s aunts see a lot of resemblance to Roy’s father.  My nephew looks even more like his Grandpa…but that is another story!  However, I think he acts more like me than Roy.  Don’t get me wrong…there is definitely some “Teahen” in him…but more “Kurtz.”  The opposite is true of our second child.  He looks like me, but acts more like Roy.  The jury is still out on the baby!

I’ll offer some observations to prove my point…

I like to read…Joey likes to read.  Roy likes to cause mischief (at least when he was younger)…Nolan likes to cause mischief.  I cannot remember a joke or tell one correctly, to save my life.  Joey cannot either.  Nolan can remember and tell jokes extremely well.  He told us one last night:

Nolan: “Do you know why a bike cannot stand on its own?”

Me: “No, why?”

Nolan:  “Because it is too tired.”

Joey:  “I don’t get it.”

More proof?

I’m a worrier.  Joey is a worrier.  I’m trying to break him of it…but it is extremely difficult.  Should I be worried that he’s worried?  Joey bites his nails, I bite my nails.  Again…trying to quit!

Nolan is very go with the flow…like my husband.  I love that about the kid.  Joey and I…not so much.  We like schedules, planners, agendas, etc.  We live for calendars and office supplies!  He has a plan and that is how it is going to be.  If it doesn’t go as planned, chaos ensues!

Joey:  “Mom, what are we going to do tomorrow?”

Me:  “I’m not sure.  Your uncles and Dad will figure it out tomorrow.  You know Joey, Teahens don’t plan.  Do you think you can just go with the flow and do whatever tomorrow?”

Joey:  “No Mom, I really can’t.”

See what I mean?  Nolan didn’t even ask.

There are many more stories that prove my point…

  • Joey freaked out about his spelling test because he didn’t know the words and he wants to be a scientist and scientists don’t fail spelling tests even in the 3rd grade.
  • Nolan ate all the “fruit bars” and didn’t think that there would not be any left for breakfast tomorrow…that is tomorrow…
  • Joey likes to boss others around…I like to boss…I mean “lead” others around!
  • Nolan likes to recruit and negotiate.
  • Joey likes to please even at his own expense.  Nolan is out for his own joy…and doesn’t think about the consequences.

So, what is in store with Sweet Pea?  Maybe she’ll be the best of both parents.  She gave us a look into her future last night.

Me:  “Elise, what do you want for your birthday?”

Elise:  (While jumping…non-stop) “A jumpy thing!!!”

Roy:  “You would like a trampoline?

Elise:  “YES!!!”  (still jumping)  A TRAMPOLINE!”

Only time will tell…each has their own, and very different, personality. Each one makes me smile and giggle every day.

I love that no matter who they resemble or how they act!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

